Exercising With Invisalign

And when I say exercising, I mean hardcore, sweating-balls cardio.   Spin class is fun and can be quite challenging… it is what you make of it as they say.  From the beginning of my treatment, my aligners have always dried my mouth out some… so to remedy that, I usually have a bottle of water with me at all times.  Cycling and breathing hard together definitely emphasize my dry mouth and I end up turning into a total mouth-breather.  My lips stick to my aligners and it’s all around uncomfortable.  Of course I drink lots of water, but when you’re moving around and working hard, the last thing you want to be is waterlogged.

So, unless you allot part of your “out time” for exercise, this might be one of your downfalls.  I think of it this way:  Exercise, stay in shape, and feel good all while working on fixing your jacked up grill… or just have a jacked up grill.

Heck, you may not even have this problem… but I wouldn’t let this be something that discourages your progress if you do.

8 thoughts on “Exercising With Invisalign

    • Hi Jean!
      No, the dry mouth still happens… isn’t it lovely?! It’s really something that I’ve grown very used to though, so I don’t even think about it much anymore. I do a bit of mouth-breathing which I’m sure is highly attractive though.

  1. You are hilarious! I am 5th tray in and you have addressed many of my concerns. Its just funny and comforting to hear a similar experience.

  2. Great blog and thanks for sharing!
    I’m about to get my aligners next month and I have one big concern regarding exercise. I’m doing CrossFit several times a week I’m wondering if there is any risk of breaking an aligner by biting down too hard when you are lifting heavy or grinding through a workout. Was your aligners effected or damaged by your exercise?

Leave a Reply

